ASRS Board of Trustees

The Arizona State Retirement System is governed by a nine-member Board of Trustees, appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the state Senate.

The Board acts as a fiduciary of the ASRS trust fund with powers and duties outlined in state statute.

The Board generally meets six times per year in a public meeting at the ASRS Phoenix office. Topics reviewed and discussed by the Board include investment management, actuarial methods & assumptions, contribution rates, budgets, technology, legislation, policies, and governance. There is also time in each meeting for calls to the public during which anyone may address the Board.

In addition to the Board of Trustees, there are three committees of the Board: the Investment Committee, the Operations, Audit & Legislative Committee, and the Appeals Committee.

Meeting agendas and discussion materials are posted to the ASRS website, AzASRS.gov. Meeting minutes are also kept there, along with short biographies of each trustee, and board governance materials. All can be found on the Board of Trustees page, under the About Us tab.

by Dave Cannella, Media Relations

Published in Expanding Your Financial Horizons digital newsletter August 2019 

Was this page helpful?: 
No votes yet